Summer Learning Journey – Niue celebrations – Activity 1

Kia ora and for today’s summer learning journey activity I had to watch a video about the Makefu village of Niue celebration day in Northland. After I read about Niueans in Northland, New Zealand I took notice of all the types of activities that are part of their celebration days. I made a google drawing while my mum was sending me photos of a celebration that we went to. once she had sent me the photos I had to make a collage with the photos she had sent me.

Here is a photo of my collage

Ahurei is a day-long gathering of our whanau kapa haka from each of the Marae in our tribe Rongomaiwhaine.  I see that our celebrations are the same as the Northland Niuean celebrations.  We celebrate with kai (food), arts and stalls, waiata (song) and kapa haka. There are lots of korero (talking) and whanaungatanga (connections and relationships) with whanau (family) & friends.  I found it interesting that other cultures have almost the same celebrations that we do.

I would love to read some comments of other celebrations that you may enjoy.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Summer Learning Journey – Niue celebrations – Activity 1

  1. Kia ora Leeya,

    I love your collage creation of celebrating Ahurei! You have perfectly labelled all the different activities you get to be a part of during this day. I agree with you there are a lot of similar ways different cultures celebrate. I celebrate Eid, one way we celebrate is by enjoying eating mamoul (like a biscuit) as we visit our friends and family. What is your favourite food stall and dish served?

    Keep up the amazing work!
    Manar Mahmoud (SLJ)

  2. tēnā koe Leeya

    You did a great job communicating what Ahurei is. I also like the fact that you used the colour scheme of your tribe without even realising. What is your favourite part of Ahurei?

    Romana aka Mum

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *